More of your questions answered today! You always submit such fabulous ones. Includes 12 Week Challenge, dancing in Europe, music, preventing bulky muscles, Balanchine’s Swan Lake, Phantom of the Opera ballet chorus, homesickness, grand lie in 2nd, toe pain, feet cramps, dancing on a raked stage, hyperextension, how I am doing, and questions I get tired of answering.

12 Week Challenge Facebook Group
Bunheads Big Toe Tips

TOPICS
0:47 12 Week Challenge Updates/Conversations
1:15 Would I Dance in Europe/UK
1:49 What Music Do I Like
3:10 Preventing Muscles from Bulking/Pilates Info
4:47 My Own Ballet Class CDs
5:27 Balanchine’s 1 Act Swan Lake vs. Normal Swan Lake
7:26 Do I Enjoy Watching Videos of Myself
9:33 Would I Audition for Phantom of the Opera
10:33 Homesickness
11:45 Grand PliΓ© in 2nd Without Moving Feet
12:43 Pain in Big Toe on Pointe
13:58 Cramping in Feet While Dancing
14:57 Dancing on a Raked Stage
17:30 Hyperextension
19:08 How I am Doing & Updates
21:23. Questions I Get Tired of Answering

11 thoughts on “January Q&A

  1. Hey there! I just love your Q and A’s! They’re so informative and give insight to how you would go about doing something. You’ve definitely given me a lot of really good second opinions! πŸ™‚ But, I have a quick question…who won the holiday giveaway? You haven’t mentioned it yet, and I was really curious! Have a wonderful day, Katie! I just adore you! πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to see more of your videos!! Hugs to you! πŸ˜€

  2. Hello Kathy,
    I love the opportunity you are providing us with this 12 week challenge. I am an older dancer but pride myself in moving on with a dream of dancing.
    My question is working on my flexibility and splits. I have a hard time releasing my muscles from my hip flexors (gluts) to my thighs. They tend to hurt or over extended. I can get my legs to a second position standing up but when I am on the ground I cannot get a complete split. Any suggestions on how I can improve my flexibility here?
    Also I want to perfect my technique and am still a bit rusty, what do you suggest to improve my skills as a dancer?
    Once again thank you for the support and opportunity.

    Sincerely,
    Maria Amarillas

  3. Hy Kathryn, thank you so much for your wunderful channels!!
    I am not a dancer but I have started doing ballet for myself at home thanks to your barres.
    However, I have trouble keeping my shoulders down while lifting my arms to fith position. Do you have any tips?

  4. Hi Kathryn,
    I am not a dancer but I started doing ballet at home thanks to you wunderful barres!!
    However, I have trouble keeping my shoulders down while lifting my arms to fifth position. Do you have any tips to help me?

  5. Thank you so much for all your videos and advice. It helps me in so many ways and you are a very encouraging person!! I was also wondering when you will be announcing the giveaway winner??!! I’m so happy for you that you are feeling much better and have lost weight, I know that is always an awesome feeling!! All the best for everything Katie, you are such a special person and we are all incredibly lucky to have you!! Lotsa love

  6. Hi Katie: I think a video on dealing with hyperextended knees would be a great addition to your gold mine!! I too would have done anything to have had all the info you share when I was a young dancer!!!!!!!!

    I do watch you closely when you are demonstrating in class, and I can thereby see a lot of what I need to do to compensate for my hyperextension. And with your gift for breaking things down, I think that would be a top-notch video on its own! Hugs and Best Regards, Carol, the Silver Ballerine-ish!

  7. Hi Katie,
    I love your blue leotard on your Q and A pictures. Could you tell me where you got it? It is very unique and I am always interested in new leotards.:)

    Thank You

  8. Hi Katie! I’m a ballet student with very inflexible feet. I do a lot of work to strengthen them, and use a couch to stretch under as well as doing extra pointe work and stretching using my pointe shoes at home. Still, I’m having a hard time creating a half-decent line. I’m fully on my box, but my ankle looks under-arched and I often find myself looking sunken in when I’m pulled up to my absolute maximum, even at the barre. I’m pretty sure the shoes I wear now are a good fit for me. I was wondering if you have any advice for stretching a very stubborn foot and making the most out of the feet I have. I especially need help developing more of a wing without having to pull back in my ankle so much that I look flexed. Thank you πŸ™‚

  9. Hello Kathryn, i am 42 now but did Γ  lit of ballet when I was a child and a teenager. As you said, I would have loved to have all the pieces of advice st that time which would have helped me tremendously to go to the next level. I realized with your videos that my teachers were just demonstrating but not really explaining the technics… All this to kindly ask you whether you could do a barre a terre (barre on the floor in English?) video for us older ex dancers who would like to still practice ? Thanks much for sharing all this with us ! And happy to hear and see that you’re thrilling πŸ˜‰

  10. Dear Katie,
    I am going through all my old leos and costumes and have some old ones that are in perfectly good condition but don’t fit me anymore. I don’t really want to just give them away and they are perfectly fine so there is no reason to throw them away. At my old studio there was a big hanging rack where you could sell your old costumes and leos but at my new studio there isn’t anything like that and I don’t really feel comfortable asking anyone yet.do you have any ideas of how I could sell my stuff other than e-bay?
    Thx!
    Margaret

  11. Dear Kathryn,

    A dear friend, who is getting back into Ballet after many years, has shared your story with me. I am not a Ballerina but I do appreciate the art form and enjoy being in the audience.

    I am writing to you for a different reason.

    I was diagnosed last year with hypothyroidism after many years of suffering, thinking I was crazy or worse LAZY.

    I am not a lazy person and was always athletic. I enjoyed playing sports as well as singing/songwriting/and playing my instruments.

    All this became impossible along with other life duties, about 5 years ago.

    I was told to check the thyroid but nothing would show up.

    I am now 62 but don’t look or feel old. Other than the thyroid issue, I feel young.

    I am still struggling with losing the extra weight that comes with hypothroidism….and wonder if you have any suggestions.

    Brava Kathryn for sticking with your dreams and inspiring us all.

    Sincerely,
    Maryanna

Leave a Reply

