I am so thrilled to finally show this to all of you! This is a dance film of the ballet The Red Shoes, choreographed specifically for me by the amazing Donald Garverick. This is our take on the famous fairytale, NOT the movie. I will be performing this ballet LIVE at the Kennedy Center March 29 & 30 with Ballet in the City! All of my wonderful collaborators’ information is below!

A peasant girl is adopted by a wealthy elderly woman after her mother’s death. She grows up vain. She tricks her adoptive mother into buying a pair of red shoes and repeatedly wears them to church, without paying attention to the service. Her adoptive mother becomes ill, but the peasant girl deserts her, preferring to attend a party in her red shoes, where she celebrates by showing them off…. But the shoes had a different idea….

Kennedy Center Tickets
Red Shoes by Bloch

Choreographed & Directed by Donald Garverick
Website
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook

Filmed & Edited by Lyndell Higgins
Website
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
YouTube

Lighting Concept by Christina Watanabe
Website

Lighting Supervisor: Anshuman Bhatia
Production Assistant: Jesse T Lessner

Music: Excerpts from “Dante Symphony” by Franz Liszt

Filmed at Mark Morris Dance Center
Website

13 thoughts on “The Red Shoes

  1. Hello,
    That was a really neat dance. You did an excellent job. I never knew about the read shoe story. Is that just a section of the actual ballet?

    Thank You

      1. Well, the choreography and the story was beautiful.:) I would love to meet you one day and wished I lived in New York so that I could take private lessons from you. Can`t wait to see more of your works and hope to come to the Kennedy center.
        Blessings,
        Jenae

  2. This was beautiful Kathryn ! Thank you for sharing this with us ! I had forgotten the story which came back to me watching you dance πŸ™‚

  3. Just watched the music is riveting
    and your work was flawless. You kept
    my attention the whole time with
    those steps! (Red shoes!)
    Congratulations!
    Merde!! In DC!!

  4. WOW!! πŸ™‚ Simply STUNNING, Kathryn!! πŸ™‚ I loved this! I’m in such awe of you! I had goosebumps the entire time, ha! I could not look away for fear I might miss something. You’re such an amazing adagio dancer; sooo emotional! I really wish I could come see this in person but, this video will keep me satisfied! πŸ™‚ Thank you so much for sharing this! I loved it! πŸ˜€ Hugs to you…

  5. Well, the choreography and story line was beautiful.:) I wish I lived in New York so that I could take private lessons from you but I hope to meet you one of these days.:) Looking forward to seeing more of your work and hope to come to the Kennedy center.
    Blessings,
    Jenae

  6. Just fabulous Kathryn, it was good in Cleveland but now it is GREAT!! It just grows and grows and all the technique you have regained is danced with such ease…wow, love, Mary

  7. I was babysitting my younger cousins today, after a church service. Ironicly, the service was about the pitfalls of vanity. I showed this video to my cousins afterwords. A few minutes later, I noticed a pair of red shoes in the kitchen garbage. When I asked one of my cousins about it, she said: “I’m not vain I swear, but I don’t ever want red shoes killing me!” I left the room, and fell over laughing. Thanks Katie!
    Love,
    L

  8. I LOVED this dance! Mr. Garverick’s choreography was brilliant, and so was your interpretation and performance. I appreciated being informed of the story before watching it. The music added so much as well. Perhaps someday Mr. Garverick will add to this ballet to make it even more enjoyable! Great, great job everyone!

Leave a Reply

